top of page
Writer's pictureRebecca Welte

Long Island

Last November, I took a trip out to Long Island, New York, and visited NYC while we were there. I can't tell you how excited I was for this trip. It was my first time going to such a large city (besides my hometown of course) and also my first time visiting New York! It was a very fast-paced trip and I had tons of fun- and now that I'm home (and have time!) I get to tell you all about it!!


Sagamore Hill

Even though the trip itself was fun- heading out to the East Coast was a bit of a hassle. We were up at four in the morning on a Sunday, heading the the airport to catch our flight at six thirty. We had a layover in Baltimore and then caught a plane to Islip. By the time we arrived and got our rental car, it was late and night and we were all tired from a full day of traveling. So with that being said, we had a thirty-minute drive to a family member's house, picked up some pizza, and slept soundly. The next morning we were ready to explore Long Island.


It was now a Monday and we had a day full of fun activities planned. We headed out to Sagamore Hill, the home of President Theodore Roosevelt. Unfortunately, the inside of the house was not open at the time, although it is open on other days of the week. We still got to see the outside and take a short walk down to the coast. It was pretty cold, but it was still a fun experience. Plus, the fall colors were still showing and it was gorgeous. But when I tell you this place had some of the greenest grass I've ever seen, I mean it.


After Sagamore Hill, we were starving. Ok- not starving- but really hungry. We ended up stopping at this brewery place while we were driving around. There wasn't anybody there because it was lunchtime and pretty out of the way, but it was pretty good food. We ended the day driving around on the coastline and eating at Carvel's (it's an ice cream place).


Northport

For our second day on the island, we mostly drove around and stopping in small towns to window shop. We also looked around my grandma's old neighborhood and got to see where she grew up which was pretty cool. We then headed over to this Italian grocery store called Uncle Gisuseppe's to pick up Thanksgiving dinner. I think it was a gathering place for Italians because everywhere you looked there was some type of Italian food. They even have live opera singers on the weekend. It was the most Italian place I've ever been if that makes sense. I wanted to buy out that entire store. You can tell I was rather hungry at the time.


The adventure at Uncle Gisuseppe's was lots of fun, so we headed back to our family's house and went out to dinner. Dinner was yummy and I was so full afterward.


The restaurant we ate at!

Once dinner was over, we headed back to the house to get ready to leave. We were heading into New York City now! I was so so excited for this, it was much anticipated. We spent Wednesday in the city and came back to Long Island Thursday afternoon for Thanksgiving dinner. Thanksgiving was lots of fun because I got to see some family I hadn't seen in a while. We went to bed early though, because we had to get up at four in the morning once again to catch our six a.m. flight.


Friday we made our way back home. We left Islip early in the morning and arrived at Baltimore for a layover. After our layover, we had a stop in Salt Lake City. We didn't have to get off the plane which was nice, but then the plane got stuck. There was an issue with the fuel (or something like that) and we were on the ground for almost an hour and a half. Plus, after we finally left the gate we had to de-ice the wings. Believe it or not, it had started snowing while we were there, and also happened to be the first time I'd ever seen snowfall (it wasn't that much but I'll still count it). We ended up making it home safe, but we were very tired and a very long sleep was awaiting us.


This trip was a whirlwind, but lots and lots of fun. There will be a separate story for NYC just because we did so much that I couldn't possibly fit the entire trip in one post! Keep an eye out for that!


I hope you enjoyed this article and if you ever go to Long Island, maybe you'll visit these places too (or maybe you already have).













33 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page