top of page
Writer's pictureRebecca Welte

Laguna Beach Festival of the Arts

Recently, I attended the Laguna Beach Festival of the Arts as well as the Pageant of the Masters. I have to say I really enjoyed it. It was truly a unique and exciting experience like no other. Besides exploring the art festival, we also walked around downtown Laguna.

We were able to snag a parking space in a parking lot next to the venue. The festival didn't open until about 4 o'clock though so we opted to walk around Laguna since I had never been there before. We explored some shops and art galleries. Take a look at some of the pictures I took below.


After walking through these stores and galleries, we made our way down to the beach and I must say the waves are beautiful down in Laguna. There's some nice waves in Seal Beach, but wow those were some pretty waves. If I had more time, I would've loved to go on the beach itself.

We decided on eating appetizers and having happy hour at this place called the Skyloft. It's a nice place where you can eat up on the roof with a lovely view of the ocean. We got there at just the right time too because we got a table right in the corner with shade and a great view of the ocean. We ordered calamari and some really yummy fish and chips. If you're looking for a place in Laguna Beach to eat, this is the place.

The view from our table

Once we finished our appetizers, we started to head over to the venue to listen to some music and maybe get some dinner. The venue was lovely and the music we heard was great. I believe it was jazz, but I'm not sure on that.


In addition to live music and the Pageant of the Masters, there's also an art festival where artists will display their pieces. It's essentially a large circle where you can walk around and view all the art. Right behind the grassy outdoor seating with the music was a junior art show. This showed art from talented kids from kindergarten all the way to 12th grade. You can take a look at some of my favorite art pieces at the bottom of this post.


Now the real exciting part begins. It was time for the Pageant of the Masters! I had never been, but my grandparents both had. They were still excited though. We got into the theater and it reminded of the Hollywood Bowl, just on a smaller scale. I think the theater was a bit cramped, but we all fit in there so I guess it worked. Otherwise once the production started I had lots of fun.


The way that they incorporated the people into the artwork was really cool. Sometimes I had a hard time actually seeing that there were real people in the painting. My favorite piece was Fontaine de L’Observatoire. I also really loved was the Cherry Blossom Viewing piece. Of course the Last Supper was also beautiful. No matter the theme, the Pageant will always have the finale be the Last Supper.


I really enjoyed the Festival of the Arts and the Pageant of the Masters. I would definitely love to come again some day!


Here are some of the artwork I took pictures of at the Festival of the Arts.










1 view0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page