top of page
Writer's pictureRebecca Welte

French Camp - and no it's not in France


Rock Creek

Hello there! This trip was my second vacation of the summer (the first being Disneyland) and I had lots of fun!


My family and I went to this little place called French Camp in the Eastern Sierra. If you've heard of Mammoth, It's about 30 minutes south of that. And even though it's called French Camp, it really doesn't have anything to do with the French.


The town that's right next to the campground is called Tom's Place. It was originally a gas station founded by a German man. Then it kept growing until it became a small little resort town with a campground.


We stayed for six nights at French Camp, and it was overall a nice campground. We weren't exactly on the river like previous trips, but we were pretty close to it. You could hear the river from our campsite though.


The river was wonderfully cold and had almost no fish in it. I think we saw one during our seven day stay. I would not recommend that you fish in that river. However, I would recommend that you fish at Rock Creek Lake.

Our camp spot!

While we never caught a single fish during the duration of our trip (much to everyone's disappointment), we did see a lot of them. In fact, one of them took a look at my dad's bait and just swam off. Guess we weren't using the right bait. But the people next to us caught a fish not less than ten minutes after they got there. This happened to us twice. We must have terrible luck.


Enough about our fishing experiences, instead I'll tell you that Rock Creek Lake was beautiful. We've been there a couple of times before this trip when we stayed up at Rock Creek Campground (I forgot the actual name of it). It's certainly a popular spot too because there were lots of stand up paddle boarders and kayakers. If you want to go to a lake over the summer that's not Tahoe, I would highly suggest this. Plus it's in the area of several other lovely lakes.

Rock Creek Lake

During our visits to Rock Creek Lake, it also rained on us. Multiple times. It was actually fun to get rained on and it was really pretty. Even though we still didn't catch anything. I'm still sour about not catching anything. We should've used Belvita and garlic. Darn.


Anyways another lake we went to during our trip was Convict Lake. My parents and I drove around the lake once before to see the fall colors about two years ago, but haven't been back since. Now we have been back. We left really early in the morning to have a better chance at catching the fish. Boy did I really think we were going to catch something. They were jumping out everywhere. Everywhere! My hopes and dreams about having a delicious trout for dinner were ruined when I realized they just were not biting. Woe is me. Yet again we also saw people on a boat catch something. Why can't the fish just bite our lines though? I'm very sad about this as you can probably tell. I mean it's been eight years since I caught anything at all so do you blame me?

Convict Lake

Besides the fun we had fishing we also ate at the Convict Lake Resort. It was a cute little place and we also encountered a deer! It was not afraid of us at all. We walked right up to it pretty much. I would have loved to stay at the resort. It was a beautiful place to stay and almost right on the lake. Maybe next year. Anyways, I really enjoyed Convict Lake and hope to be able to go back soon!


Overall I had a lot of fun on this trip and after lots of trips to the Eastern Sierra, I have to say it's one of the most beautiful areas of California. If you're ever thinking of taking a trip to the Eastern Sierra, I will highly recommend it.




Stay tuned for more blog posts to come! We're going to the Pageant of the Masters and the Laguna Arts Festival on Wednesday and I'm on a bit of a baking spree, so look out!










3 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page